About the Region

Altai Krai is located in the southeast of Western Siberia. The distance from Moscow to Barnaul, the administrative center of Altai Krai, is 2932 km. Total area of the region is 168 thousand sq. km. The region borders on Novosibirsk Oblast in the north, in the east - Kemerovo Oblast, the southeastern boundary is with the Altai Republic, in the south-west and west - the state border with the Republic of Kazakhstan. Total population is 2.4 million people. A distinctive feature of Altai Krai is the high share of the rural population.

There are 11 cities and 59 rural districts in the region. The administrative center is Barnaul.


In the Krai there are two types of landscapes: in the east - mountain, in the west - steppe. There are almost all natural zones of Russia: steppe and forest-steppe, taiga, mountains and rich river ecosystems. Among the 13,000 lakes, the largest one is Lake Kulundinskoe, its area is 728 sq. km. The largest rivers are the Ob, Biya, Katun, Aley and Charysh.

Altai Krai has huge reserves of various natural resources, which are rich in plant and animal life. Minerals are from deposits of polymetals, iron, table salt, soda, gypsum, brown coal and precious metals. The region is famous for unique deposits of jasper, malachite, porphyry, marbles, granites, building materials, mineral and drinking waters, therapeutic muds. The forest fund is 4 433.3 thousand hectares (26.4% of the total territory of the region).




The economy of Altai Kari is a well-diversified complex. The share of industry, agriculture, and trade predominates in the structure of the gross regional product. These activities form 53.6% of the total GRP. A favorable business climate and increased business activity, development of public, transport and engineering infrastructure contribute to economic growth in the region.

 

The modern structure of the industrial complex is characterized by a high share of manufacturing industries (over 80% in the volume of shipped goods). The leading types of economic activity in industry are the production of food products, machine-building products (railway-, boiler-, diesel, agricultural machinery, electrical equipment production), production of coke, rubber and plastic products, as well as chemical production. In recent years, the rates of industry development of the region have outstripped the all-Russian rates: the output of production for 2006-2015 has increased by a factor of 1.6 (in Russia - by 17.2%).

Agriculture plays an important role in the formation of the economy of the Krai and the way of life of the population. The basis of this is a large arable land area - 6.5 million hectares (5.6% of the arable lands of Russia), there are 5 soil and climate zones, hundreds of regionalized varieties of crops, well-developed livestock (dairy cattle breeding, poultry, pig and sheep breeding), and also qualified labor resources.

 

Altai Krai is the largest producer of environmentally friendly foods in Russia.


The region ranks 1st in the Russian Federation in the sown area of grain and grain legume crops. The Krai ranks 1st in Siberia in the gross grain harvest. Altai Krai is the only region from the Urals to the Far East that grows sugar beet, the largest producer of sunflower oilseeds in the Siberian Federal District (accounting for more than 90% of production), and holds a leading position in the district in the production of flax fiber.


Altai Krai is in the top Russian regions in food production: 1st place - in flour, fat cheeses and buckwheat production, 2nd place - in cereals production, 3rd place - in pasta production, 3rd place - in animal oil. The region holds a significant share in the production of functional products.


Altai Krai is one of the largest producers of quality beef in Russia. the region ranks 4th in the cattle population in the rating of the subjects of the Russian Federation.


The labor resources of Altai Krai, prepared by scientific and scientific educational institutions of various profiles, are characterized by a high professional level and able to meet the need of the developing economy in scientific researches and highly qualified personnel for the implementation of innovative projects and the location of technologically new productions.


Altai Krai is located at the crossing of transcontinental transit freight and passenger traffics, in close proximity to large raw and processing regions. There are highways connecting Russia with Mongolia, Kazakhstan, a railway connecting Central Asia with the Trans-Siberian Railway, and international airlines. The favorable geographic position of the region and its high transport availability open up wide opportunities for establishing strong economic and trade relations at the interregional and international levels.


The recreational potential in combination with the favorable climate of the south of Western Siberia, rich historical and cultural heritage provide an opportunity for the development of a variety of types of tourism and sports and entertainment recreation in Altai Krai. The region also has unique natural healing resources, which are necessary for the development of sanatorium and resort complexes and the region is one of the largest centers of the health industry in Russia. Over the past years, the resort town Belokurikha has been a winner in the category “Best Resort of Federal Significance”.


About half of its cities and districts have become zones of active tourism development. A special economic zone of tourist and recreational type “Biryuzovaya Katun”, an auto-tourist cluster “Golden Gates”, a tourist and recreational cluster “Belokurikha”, a subcluster “Belokurikha-2” (the investment project received the highest award as “Best Project of a Medical Resort”, as well as a subcluster “Sibirskoe Podvorye”, a tourist and recreational cluster “Barnaul - Mining City”.


The business card of the region was branded routes “Small Golden Ring of Altai” and “Big Golden Ring of Altai”.

The policy of Altai Krai is aimed at creating the most favorable conditions for attracting investments: improving the forms of state support for business, developing infrastructure (transport, energy), strengthening the economic position of the region within Russia and abroad, and law enforcement.


The main priority of the social and economic development of Altai Krai is the implementation of measures to further improve the quality of life of citizens, creating comfortable conditions for them to reside in the region.

© 2017 Altai Krai Administration.
Altai Krai Chief Administrative Department of Economics and Investments
At full or partial use of materials reference is obligatory

О регионе

Алтайский край расположен на юго-востоке Западной Сибири. Расстояние от Москвы до Барнаула, столицы Алтайского края, составляет 2932 км. Территория края составляет 168 тыс. кв. км. На севере край граничит с Новосибирской областью, на востоке - с Кемеровской областью, юго-восточная граница проходит с Республикой Алтай, на юго-западе и западе - государственная граница с Республикой Казахстан. Численность населения в регионе – 2,4 млн человек. Отличительной особенностью Алтайского края является высокая доля сельского населения.
На территории региона расположено 11 городских округов и 59 сельских районов. Административный центр - г. Барнаул.

 
В крае преобладают два типа ландшафтов: на востоке - горный, на западе - степной. Здесь присутствуют почти все природные зоны России: степь и лесостепь, тайга, горы и богатые речные экосистемы. Из 13 000 озёр самое большое - Кулундинское, его площадь 728 кв. км. Наиболее крупные реки - Обь, Бия, Катунь, Алей и Чарыш.
Алтайский край располагает огромными запасами разнообразных природных ресурсов, богатым растительным и животным миром. Полезные ископаемые представлены месторождениями полиметаллов, железа, поваренной соли, соды, гипса, бурых углей и драгоценных металлов. Край знаменит уникальными месторождениями яшмы, малахита, порфиров, мраморов, гранитов, строительных материалов, минеральными и питьевыми водами, лечебными грязями. Лесной фонд составляет 4 433,3 тыс. га (26,4 % от всей территории региона).
 


Экономика Алтайского края - это сложившийся многоотраслевой комплекс. В структуре валового регионального продукта существенно преобладают доли промышленности, сельского хозяйства, торговли. Эти виды деятельности формируют 53,6% общего объема ВРП. Экономическому росту в крае способствует благоприятный предпринимательский климат и повышение деловой активности бизнеса, развитие общественной, транспортной и инженерной инфраструктуры.


Современная структура промышленного комплекса характеризуется высокой долей обрабатывающих производств (свыше 80% в объеме отгруженных товаров). Ведущими видами экономической деятельности в промышленности являются производство пищевых продуктов, машиностроительной продукции (вагоно-, котло-, дизелестроение, сельхозмашиностроение, производство электрооборудования), производство кокса, резиновых и пластмассовых изделий, а также химическое производство. В течение последних лет темпы развития промышленности края опережают общероссийские: объем производства за 2006-2015 годы возрос в 1,6 раза (по России – на 17,2%).


Весомую роль в формировании экономики края и уклада жизни населения играет сельское хозяйство. Основой этого является большая площадь пашни - 6,5 млн. га (5,6 % от пашни России), наличие 5 почвенно-климатических зон, сотни районированных сортов сельскохозяйственных культур, развитое животноводство (молочное скотоводство, птицеводство, свиноводство, овцеводство), а также квалифицированные трудовые ресурсы.


Алтайский край является крупнейшим производителем экологически чистого продовольствия в России.


 
Регион занимает 1 место в Российской Федерации по посевной площади зерновых и зернобобовых культур. Край занимается 1 место в Сибири по валовому сбору зерна. Алтайский край - единственный от Урала до Дальнего Востока регион, выращивающий сахарную свеклу, крупнейший производитель маслосемян подсолнечника в СФО (на его долю приходится более 90% производства), занимает лидирующие позиции в округе по производству льноволокна.


 

Алтайский край находится на самых высоких строчках в рейтингах российских регионов по объемам производства продуктов питания: 1 место – по муке, жирным сырам и гречневой крупе, 2 место – по крупе, 3 место – по макаронным изделиям, 3 место – по животному маслу. Существенную долю край занимает в производстве продукции функционального назначения.


 
Алтайский край – один из крупнейших производителей качественной говядины в России, по объемам ее производства среди регионов. По поголовью крупного рогатого скота регион занимает 4 место в рейтинге субъектов Российской Федерации.


 

Трудовые ресурсы Алтайского края, подготовленные научными и научно-образовательными учреждениями различных профилей, характеризуются высоким профессиональным уровнем и способны удовлетворить потребность развивающейся экономики в научных исследованиях и высококвалифицированных кадрах для реализации инновационных проектов и размещения технологически новых производств.


 

Алтайский край находится на пересечении трансконтинентальных транзитных грузовых и пассажирских потоков, в непосредственной близости к крупным сырьевым и перерабатывающим регионам. По территории края проходят автомагистрали, соединяющие Россию с Монголией, Казахстаном, железная дорога, связывающая Среднюю Азию с Транссибирской магистралью, международные авиалинии. Выгодное географическое положение региона и его высокая транспортная доступность открывают широкие возможности для установления прочных экономических и торговых связей межрегионального и международного уровней.


Рекреационный потенциал в сочетании с благоприятным климатом юга Западной Сибири, богатое историко-культурное наследие предоставляют возможность для развития на территории Алтайского края разнообразных видов туризма и спортивно-развлекательного отдыха. Регион также обладает уникальными природными лечебными ресурсами, необходимыми для развития санаторно-курортных комплексов и является одним из крупнейших в России центром индустрии здоровья. На протяжении последних лет город-курорт Белокуриха признается победителем в номинации «Лучший курорт федерального значения».


 

Около половины его городов и районов стали зонами активного развития туризма. На территории края динамично развивается особая экономическая зона туристско-рекреационного типа «Бирюзовая Катунь», автотуристский кластер «Золотые ворота», туристско-рекреационный кластер «Белокуриха», входящий в его состав субкластер «Белокуриха-2», инвестиционный проект которого получил высшую награду как «Лучший проект лечебного курорта», а также субкластер «Сибирское подворье», туристско-рекреационный кластер «Барнаул – горнозаводской город».
Визитной карточкой региона стали брендовые маршруты «Малое Золотое кольцо Алтая» и Большое Золотое кольцо Алтая».



Политика Алтайского края направлена на формирование максимально выгодных условий для привлечения инвестиций: совершенствование форм государственной поддержки бизнеса, развитие инфраструктуры (транспортной, энергетической), укрепление экономических позиций края внутри России и за рубежом, обеспечение правопорядка.
Основным приоритетом социально-экономического развития Алтайского края является реализация мер по дальнейшему улучшению качества жизни граждан, создание для них комфортных условий для проживания на территории региона.

© 2017 Правительство Алтайского края.
Министерство экономического развития Алтайского края.
При полном или частичном использовании материалов ссылка обязательна